פרס ריימונד ובברלי סאקלר למדעים הפיסיקליים, כימיה THE RAYMOND & BEVERLY SACKLER PRIZE IN THE PHYSICAL SCIENCES CHEMISTRY Chemical Biology



Call for Nominations for the Year 2019

The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences, awarded at Tel-Aviv University (TAU), has been established through the generosity of Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler. It is awarded alternatively in the fields of Chemistry and Physics. This year an amount of \$100,000 will be presented in the field of Chemistry. The prize will be awarded at TAU, during a mini-conference that will be held in honor of the laureates, in February 2019.

The prize is intended to encourage dedication to science, originality and excellence by rewarding outstanding young scientists. Age limit has been set at 45 years of age by September 1st 2018, or for completion of the PhD degree not before September 1st 2003.

The Sackler Prize is administered by TAU through an advisory committee* comprised of the President and Rector of TAU as ex-officio members and others who have been selected ad personam by the President and the Rector. The non ex-officio members are appointed to a three year term. The subject for the year 2019 is *CHEMICAL BIOLOGY* and the coordinators are Professor Moshe Kol and Professor Micha Fridman of the School of Chemistry.

A selection panel composed of outstanding scientists in the field will be appointed, reflecting the international diversity of this professional area. (One panel member, however, has to be a Professor at TAU).

Nominations for the Sackler Prize can be made by individuals belonging to one or more of the following categories:

- 1. Presidents, Rectors, Vice-Presidents, Provosts, Deans in the Natural Sciences and Professors of Chemistry, Physics, or disciplines of Life sciences, in recognized institutions of higher learning and research in Israel and abroad.
- 2. Members of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities and Members of the TAU Senate.
- 3. Sackler Prize Laureates.

All completed nominations should be submitted by **email** (preferably in pdf) before **Sept. 1**st **2018** to Ms. Ronit Weingarten, Prize Administrative Assistant: Ronitwe@tauex.tau.ac.il.

Information will soon be available on the website link below.

We would appreciate it if the support of each nomination would include at least two letters of recommendation, the nominee's C.V., list of publications, a brief research summary, and website link.

Members of TAU faculty are not eligible to receive the prize. An individual may not nominate oneself.

* The members of the Advisory Committee are: Prof J. Klafter (President), Prof. Yaron Oz (Rector), Prof. Shimon Yankielowicz, Prof. Joshua Jortner and Prof. Yakir Aharonov

Coordinators for the Year 2018: Professor Moshe Kol and Professor Micha Fridman

Raymond and Beverly Sackler School of Chemistry, Faculty of Exact Sciences, Tel-Aviv University, Israel 6139001 Tel: +972-3-640-7745, Fax: +972-3-640-9293, Email: Ronitwe@tauex.tau.ac.il